Keynote Speaker | ISETL

Keynote Speaker

ISETL 2018 Keynote Speaker

Krista Terry, Ph.D.

The past decade has been marked by many changes in higher education – new methods, new approaches, and new models of instruction. With more predicted change on the horizon, how do we as faculty members, keep our ‘eye on the ball’ when it comes to facilitating student learning? How do we know when to embrace change, question change, or facilitate change? Which strategies do we adopt, and which do we question?

During this keynote address, past ISETL President Krista Terry will provide both a retrospective look at how the higher education teaching and learning has changed during the past decade and will identify trends on the horizon that could potentially impact our practice as educators. Audience members will be engaged with discussing key foundational principles of pedagogy that can help us remain purposeful as we strive to facilitate active, engaged learning experiences for our students.

About Dr. Terry:
Krista Terry is an Associate Professor of Instructional Design and Technology in the department of Leadership and Educational Studies at Appalachian State University where she teaches online courses in the Educational Media and Higher Education program areas. She is also currently serving as a Faculty Fellow in the Academic Affairs division of the University of North Carolina System. She is past President of the International Society of Exploring Teaching and Learning (ISETL), and an Associate Editor of the International Journal of Teaching and Learning in Higher Education (IJTLHE).

Krista provides keynote speeches and invited presentations at local, regional and national events and conferences, most recently providing pre-conference workshops on the pedagogy of online learning at the United States Distance Learning Association and Conference on Higher Education Pedagogy conferences. She is a regular presenter at industry conferences at the state, regional, national and international levels.

Previous Keynote Speakers

ISETL 2017 – Saundra McGuire, Ph.D.

Dr. Saundra Yancy McGuire is the Director Emerita of the Center for Academic Success and retired Assistant Vice Chancellor and Professor of Chemistry at LSU. Prior to joining LSU, she spent eleven years at Cornell University, where she received the coveted Clark Distinguished Teaching Award. She has delivered keynote addresses or presented workshops at over 250 institutions in 43 states and eight countries. Her latest book, Teach Students How to Learn: Strategies You Can Incorporate into Any Course to Improve Student Metacognition, Study Skills, and Motivation, was released in October 2015.

ISETL 2016 – Todd Zakrajsek, Ph.D.

Todd Zakrajsek is an Associate Research Professor and Associate Director of Fellowship Programs in the Department of Family Medicine. In addition to his work at UNC, Todd serves on several boards: Journal of Excellence in College Teaching; International Journal for the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning; Higher Education Teaching Learning Portal; Technology Enriched Instruction (Microsoft); and Communicating Science in K-12 (Harvard). Todd is also currently serving terms as an elected steering committee member for the both the Professional Organizational Developers Network and the National Academies Collaborative.

ISETL 2015 – Terry Doyle

Terry Doyle is an author, educational consultant and professor emeritus of reading at Ferris State University where he worked for 38 years. He spent from 1998 to spring of 2009 as the Senior Instructor for Faculty Development and Coordinator of the New to Ferris Faculty Transition Program for the Faculty Center for Teaching and Learning at Ferris State University.

ISETL 2014 – Christy Price, Ed.D.

A professor in both the School of Liberal Arts and the School of Health Professions, and the founding director of the Center for Academic Excellence at Dalton State College, Christy Price has been teaching at the collegiate level for 25 years. She is a nationally recognized authority on innovative teaching techniques to engage millennial learners and was chosen by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching as the Outstanding U.S. Professor for 2012 in the Baccalaureate Colleges category. Price also won the 2010 Carnegie Foundation Outstanding Professor Award for the state of Georgia. Her dynamic and interactive style make Price a favorite as a professor and presenter. She regularly presents as a keynote speaker and has led faculty development workshops and retreats at over seventy institutions across the United States and abroad. As a recipient of an institutional foundation grant award, Price has studied teaching techniques that influence student motivation

ISETL 2013 – C. Edward Watson, Ph.D.

Dr. C. Edward Watson is the Chief Information Officer and the Associate Vice President for Quality, Advocacy, and LEAP Initiatives. He leads the association’s national and state-level advocacy and policy efforts to advance quality in undergraduate student learning and guides AAC&U’s agenda, grounded in the LEAP Initiative, to advance educational quality initiatives within institutions, state systems, and state-based consortia. He also serves as the leader for the LEAP States initiative.

ISETL 2012 – Peter Doolittle, Ph.D.

Doolittle, who joined the School of Education at Virginia Tech as an assistant professor in 1997, achieved the rank of professor in 2012. He has been a well-recognized scholar in his field, authoring more than 40 peer-reviewed articles and chapters, providing more than 50 keynote and invited addresses, and presenting at more than 100 conferences. He is the founding editor of the International Journal of Teaching and Learning in Higher Education.