Abstract




Developing a Culture of Assessment through a Self-formed Faculty Learning Community

Stephanie Schlitz
Bloomsburg University
( sschlitz@bloomu.edu)

Margaret O’Connor
Bloomsburg University
(moconno1@bloomu.edu)

Yanhui Pang
Bloomsburg University
(ypang@bloomu.edu)

Deborah Stryker
Bloomsburg University
(dstryker@bloomu.edu)

Stephen Markell
Bloomsburg University
(smarkel@bloomu.edu)

Ethan Krupp
Bloomsburg University
(ekrupp@bloomu.edu)

Celina Byers
Bloomsburg University
(cbyers@bloomu.edu)

Sheila Jones
Bloomsburg University
(sjones@bloomu.edu)

Alicia Redfern
Bloomsburg University
(aredfern@bloomu.edu)


Abstract:
This article describes how a diverse, interdisciplinary team of faculty formed a topic-based faculty learning community. Following an introduction to faculty learning communities and a brief discussion of their benefit to faculty engaged in the process of adopting new technology, we explain how our team, through a competitive mini-grant application process and intensive training workshop, complemented by a series of follow-up training sessions, formed a faculty learning community that collectively adopted a web-based rubric model for performance evaluation, began implementing it, and, in doing so, developed a culture of assessment. We describe the web-based rubric software we adopted and provide short reports authored by seven members of the faculty learning community to exemplify how the implementation of web-based rubrics can enhance student performance, augment instructor evaluation of student performance, and facilitate outcomes assessment. The article includes a “lessons learned” section which synthesizes what we learned from the endeavor and emphasizes what we considered critical to the group’s success.






Copyright © 2014, International Journal of Teaching and Learning in Higher Education
ALL RIGHTS RESERVED